our Archives

Year Description
1940 Hindi High School founded, with Sri J. M. Goenka as its President and Sri L. N. Birla as Vice-President of the Managing Committee.
1941 1st January - School started at Ballygunge Circular Road, in a rented house. The first Headmaster was Sri J. Banerjee, Bar-at-Law. He was succeeded by Mr. S. Paul. Number of students 12.
1941 December - School building was requisitioned by the British Government for accommodation for military purposes, after the entry of the Japanese into World War II.
1947 1st January - Hindi High School re-opened in a rented building at 1/1B, Lower Circular Road. Sri J. M. Goenka having now resigned as President, Sri L. N. Birla was elected in his place. The opening ceremony was performed by the great statesman, Sri C. Rajagopalachari. The school was affiliated to Calcutta University. The school started with many firsts and was the first to enjoy the services of an educational psychologist from 1949. The Headmaster was Dr. K. Ramaswamy who was later succeeded by Dr. J. L. Pandit.
1949 The school community structure was revamped dividing it into eight houses, the first ever in Calcutta Ashoka, Pratap, Patel, Shivaji, Gandhi, Tagore, Netaji and Jawahar.
1952 NCC Army Wing and Scouts introduced under the command of Sri S. S. Chatha. NCC Air Wing was introduced the next year.
1953 Mr. Arthur Osborne joined as Principal in place of Dr. J. L. Pandit who left for America.
1955 26th January - NCC Wing Cadets Pradyurnn Kumar Chowbey and S. P. Mahajan represented West Bengal in the march past in the Republic Day Parade at New Delhi.
1956 Late Dr. B. C. Roy, the then Chief Minister of West Bengal, formally opened the new senior school for classes IV to X, at the new premises at 1, Moira Street, Calcutta 17. English was introduced as a medium of instruction parallel to Hindi.
1958 Mr. Robert Martin Muir, M.A., took over as Principal.
1961 The school orchestra was honoured by an invitation to perform in a musical entertainment programme at the National day reception hosted by the French Consul General of India.
1963 Dr. J. L. Pandit, M.A., Ph.D, returned from USA and took over as Principal.
1964 A student Prakash Poddar was selected in the Indian Cricket Team. Hit three centuries in his first three Ranji Trophy matches. Played many test matches and made the school proud.
1966 Mrs. N. Bali took charge as the Headmistress of the Junior School from Mrs. Sood.
1968 Dr. Shaligram Chaturvedi took over from Dr. J. L. Pandit as the Principal.
1970 Supriya Dutta secured the first position in H. S. with 95.4% marks, Arindam Bose secured the 9th position. Gangesh Khaitan was selected by the Indian Golf Union to represent India in the World Golf Junior Championship held at San Diego, California, USA.
1971 The school shifted its affiliation from Calcutta University to the Central Board of Secondary Education.
1972 Mr. Mukti Nath Pandey was appointed the Principal.
1977 Hindi High School (Girls' Section) was started.
1989 Hindi High School (Girls' Section) started the Plus-two Commerce classes.
1991 The school celebrated its Golden Jubilee.
1993 Mr. I. V. Sharma was appointed the Principal.
1996 Hindi High School Alumni was formed.
1997 The school name was changed from Hindi High School to Birla High School.
1999 Mr. I. V. Sharma retired and Mr. P. K. Bose took over as the Principal.
2001 Ms. Mukta Nain took over as the Principal of Birla High School.
2003 Odyssey the Inter-school fest was revived after a gap of 10 years.

President Dr. A. P. J. Abdul Kalam replied to a student Sayantan Nandy's letter. The letter was read out at the Republic Day celebrations in school.
2004 Bavesh Jajoo, a student was recognized at the Telegraph school awards for his bravery as he received the Surrendra Paul Memorial Award for Courage from Smt. Sonia Gandhi.
2005 Birla High School hosted the All Bengal CBSE Principals' Meet in January. Mr. Ashok Ganguly, Chairman, CBSE addressed the Principals of the CBSE schools.

Bodhayan Roy from Class XI Science was awarded the Indian National Mathematical Olympiad Award. He attended a summer camp at the Homi Bhabha Centre for Science Education, Mumbai.
2006 French was introduced as a 3rd Language.

Two students, namely Abhinav Jhanji and Debdeep Dhar visited the U.K. in July 2006, as a part of the Indo-Swinton Exchange Programme under the Duke of Edinburgh Award Scheme.
2007 Harsh Drolia was the city topper in the CBSE XII Results.

The school hosted the Regional CBSE Science Exhibition with over thirty schools from across Eastern India participating in the same.
2008 The school was the proud recipient of the 'School of the Year' Award sponsored by the Lions Club Gurukul Awards for Excellence in Schools.

Vandit Shah was awarded the 'Student of the Year' by the same group.

The Telegraph School Awards for the 'Best Academic Performance by a School in Competitive Examinations' was given to Birla High School.
2009 The school was awarded the International School Award by the British Council.

Birla High School was recognized as a PASCH school by the Federal Republic of Germany (Partners in Education). Five students attended a Youth camp in Germany, under this scheme.

Ms. Nain, Principal, was recognized as the 'Principal of the Year' by Gurukul Awards sponsored by the Lions Club and FACES.

Darshan Dugar of Class XII was the proud recipient of the 'Student of the Year' Award.